Beauty, The Edits
Comments 3

Go Bold or Go Home

Warning, this bold lip edit is not for the faint hearted.  It will soon be no secret that I love a good bold lip – when you really want to make an entrance, add a little pizazz to a simple or monochromatic outfit, or just in need of a confidence boost, there’s nothing like throwing on a statement lip to amp things up. In the next series of posts titled Go Bold or Go HomeI will be showcasing a bunch of my favourites, starting with some dark and vampy selections.

vamp_cover

I think if makeup fantasies were a real thing, mine will most probably involve me swimming in endless array Tom Ford and By Terry lipsticks, and lots of it. Swoon.  Oh bless the weeping soul of my wallet, if you’ve only thought of creamy lipsticks as heavy, gloopy and waxy, these feel like sinful butter. By Terry Rouge Terrybly in Carnal Attraction and Tom Ford Lip Colour in Black Orchid (feature image), are the darkest shade offerings in the both ranges, although Carnal Attraction is probably the more wearable of the two, and in this line up. Application-wise, Carnal Attraction applies slightly more evenly than Black Orchid, which I find needs a couple more layers. But Black Orchid – oh the intensity and colour – I die a little on the inside when I use it as sadly it’s been discontinued. If you can get your hands on it, you won’t regret it. Both can be applied and blotted down for a more subtle finish of course. The longevity of these lipsticks are excellent for a formula that is quite creamy, and after a few hours it leaves a lovely stain on the lips – don’t expect it to last through a meal though.

By Terry Rouge Terrybly

If you are someone who can’t be fussed totting around a matching lip liner or find traditional lipstick application a pain, then the next two offerings should be up your street. The beautiful Ellis Faas CREAMY LIPS in L102 in its sleek silver bullet packaging is definitely a head turner. A few turns releases the product which is aptly described as a deep plum wine, and is quite satin and sheeny on the lips. The large doe foot application fits well to the contours of my lips and makes application an ease. On there other hand, the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Train Bleu is a deep purple aubergine, almost black, and is perhaps the bolder avant-garde lip option. I love how the matte texture adds quite a modern finish and how the pencil style tip doubles as a lip liner.  These lip pencils from NARS are some of the most comfortable mattes out there, but it is avoidable that they are naturally more drying on the lips over time, so if you have dry or flaky lips – prep them. The longevity of the L102 and Train Bleu is commendable, due to its thicker, less creamy formulas and I’ve had these survive through a couple of drinks and a meal.

Me thinks a comparison between Tom Ford Bruised Plum versus Black Orchid should be on the horizon, and I’ve got my eye on Charlotte Tilbury’s K.I.S.S.I.N.G in Night Crimson… Too many lipsticks, so little time.

Ellis Faas CREAMY LIPS in L102 Deep Plum Wine

Ellis Faas CREAMY LIPS

Nars Velvet Matte

Nars Velvet Matte

3 Comments

    • Hi Christina, thank you! I’m so glad you liked them. Wow – Villain looks like an amazing colour! I’m sure you could pull it off! Bold lips definitely need to be worn in the appropriate environment though.

      Oh is the red velvet lip butter the Revlon ones? x

      Ps I’m so sorry, I’m not sure what happened but your comment landed up in our spam comment box so I’d missed it earlier! 😦

      • Yes it’s from revlon. Haha I think sometimes I get put in spam because I go a little wild reading and commenting on so many blogs at a time. I just get sucked into the blogging world.

Leave a reply

