Beauty, Beauty Reviews, Makeup Mondays
Comments 4

Makeup Mondays #1: Two-toned Lips

Welcome to the first post of the featurette Makeup Mondays on The Timber owls – be sure to check back for beauty related posts at the start of each week! I do apologise for another lipstick-centric post. I promise it’ll be something different next week.

I sometimes get bored with just one lip colour. Thankfully, there’s a solution for that! On days when I’m feeling slightly more experimental, and if the occasion is appropriate, I find multi-tonal, or ombre lips a fun way to play around with lips colours. But the application can be troublesome and it is an effort having to tote around two different lipsticks. The solution? The Two Tone Lip Bar from Korean beauty brand Laneige.

Laneige Two Tone Lip Bar

L-R: Red Blossom, Salmon Pink, Daring Darling

These offer the convenience of two complementary lip colours, conveniently housed in a single lipstick. Unlike the traditional cylindrical packaging of most lipsticks, these resemble cute mini Kit-Kat bars, retractable via a lever that you push down on the side of the lipstick. Each bar of lipstick is equally divided diagonally into two separate colours. These two colours can either be used separately or applied together in a single swipe. Available in ten variants of darker and lighter shade combinations, from a pinky-peachy nude to darker burgundy and red combinations, there’s definitely a shade for every lipstick lover. I plumped for the shades No.2 in Red Blossom (nude and pinky/red), No.3 in Pink Salmon (neon orange/pink) and lastly No.5 in Daring Darling (hot pink/true red).

The verdict? These lipsticks glide on beautifully and the texture is incredible – extremely comfortable on the lips without being too heavy despite the creaminess. They have a slight pleasant scent, nothing noticeable, and don’t cause or accentuate any dry patches on my lips or settle into my lip lines. I find the square design of the lipstick excellent for manoeuvring the lip bar around my lips. The colour pay-off is fantastic and my pick of the lot, Daring Darling, is a gorgeous medium hot pink. Ultimately, these are not a must-have if you already own similar shades in your collection. But I am happy to have these in my collection as the formula and shades are excellent, not to mention the convenience! The fuschia shade in no. 9 looks fab too!

4 Comments

    • Hi Jen, thank for stopping by! I’ve noticed you love Korean products – I do too! I hope you manage to try these out, but even so, it’s fun experimenting with two lip colours to create different looks. You should give it a go for sure!

Leave a reply

